Our Team

Our Team

Members of the Pulse Health Executive Team and Board of Directors.

Executive Team

Phillipa Blakey
Managing Director

Phillipa has been Pulse Health Group CEO since June 2013 before being appointed Managing Director in May 2014. Phillipa is an experienced healthcare executive with a track record in strategy and performance improvement. She has held COO roles in NSW Health (10 hospitals across North Sydney and Central Coast) and the Amity Group (48 for profit nursing homes, CVC owned and then sold to Bupa). Most recently Phillipa was CEO and director of Think Education Pty Ltd, the private higher education provider previously owned by SEEK Group. Phillipa is a director of Bairo Pite Hospital (Australia) Ltd

Matthew MacKay
Chief Operating Officer

Matthew Mackay has held senior management positions in public, private and military health facilities / hospitals over the past 17 years. Prior to joining Pulse Health Matthew’s most recent executive role was as General Manager / Director of Clinical Services for Surgery Centres of Australia. Matthew has previously held senior management positions within Macquarie Health Services, Healthscope, NSW DOH, and The Sydney Private Hospital. Matthew was also a Captain in the Australian Army and has had multiple operational deployments in command positions to both Afghanistan and Timor.

Mark Hays
Chief Financial Officer

Mark has held senior finance positions in privately held companies across the hospitality, property and finance sectors. Prior to joining Pulse Health, Mark held a dual CFO/Investment Director role working with investments of Viburnum Funds in Perth, Western Australia. Mark is a chartered accountant and started his professional career at Ernst & Young providing taxation, accounting and business advisory services to large privately owned Western Australian companies.

Board of Directors

Stuart James

Stuart is an experienced executive within the financial and healthcare sectors. Stuart’s past roles have included Managing Director of Australian Financial Services for Colonial and Managing Director of Colonial State Bank (formerly the State Bank of N.S.W). Stuart has also held the executive role as CEO of the Mayne Group from January 2002 to January 2005. Prior to that Stuart was Mayne’s Chief Operating Officer from July 2000 to January 2002.

Craig Coleman

Mr. Coleman is a widely respected figure in Australia’s financial sector and also holds directorships in financial, healthcare and software companies. In 2007, Mr Coleman founded Viburnum Funds, a specialist Investment firm focusing on private equity and stakeholder investments. He was previously a Director of Lonestar Resources, a US based oil and gas exploration company, Keybridge Capital and Amcom Telecommunications. Currently Mr Coleman is Chairman of Rubik Financial Ltd and a Non-Executive Director of Bell Financial Ltd, Bell Direct Ltd and Universal Biosensors Ltd. Mr Coleman previously held a number of senior executive positions with ANZ Bank and was a Director of ETrade Australia. He is also the former Managing Director of Home Building Society Limited.

David Manning

David Manning is an accomplished healthcare executive with over 35 years of healthcare leadership and management experience. Previously Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Baptist Hospital, a 750 bed facility located in Nashville, Tennessee, David went on to Co-found Practice Development Associates in 1997. Practice Development associates developed 75 ambulatory surgery centres over five years. In 2002 David was a Co-founder of AmSurg Corp, a multibillion dollar publicly traded US company. AmSurg now owns and operates 250 ambulatory surgery centres, with over 2,000 physician partnerships providing over 1.6 million outpatient surgical procedures per year. David served as Executive Vice President and Chief Development Officer until his retirement in 2014. David has recently founded Ambulatory Surgery International to develop ambulatory surgery services on an international basis.